Wallflower Workshop: DIY Dried Wreath

DIY, events

Last month I had the pleasure of hosting my first workshop in my studio! It’s always been a dream of mine to gather women together to craft and bond and learn from each other. Every one has such an amazing story to share and we are all on this journey together, so why not grow together! And I’ve always thought life is just better when we do it together. So drawing community together through workshops was something I have been brewing for sometime.  It just gets crazy to fit it all in with a toddler, weddings and events that are already booked, and pregnancy! But luckily with all the holidays coming up, I was able to host one that was sure to get us in the festive spirit! And what better way to test out my first workshop, than on my church’s Moms Group.

801a0313

801a0686

If there’s anything that you know about us moms, we try to get every opportunity to hang out with other moms and pick each other’s brain on how we survive this mom gig that we’re in life for! Also, whether we are good at crafting or not, somehow we all figure out a way to enjoy it, maybe because of all those late night macaroni school projects we have to “help” with that we end up doing ourselves? So when picking my first workshop, I wanted to offer a DIY that would appeal to all levels of craftiness.

801a0363

One thing I learned, maybe hosting and teaching something very pregnant may not be the best idea…my pregnant brain kept jumbling sentences and I would go on tangents. All the women were so gracious to me, smiling and listening and trying to follow along with my directions. Haha!

Also, you can’t have a Mom’s DIY Night without a little wine and cheese board!

I loved how each wreath embodied the personalities of each of the creator’s! Each one was so different, lovely, and unique!

Melissa from Craft and Foster, (also an amazing rockstar mama of 4!!) generously gifted everyone who attended  to my workshop with a candle! And we got to sample the Christmas candles, and let me tell you….you are gonna need each of these for your home this season! I’m obsessed and I love how fragrant it fills up the whole house without being too much! And I would know! I have the most sensitive pregnant nose! Each candle is hand poured here in San Diego and I’m telling you…this is going to make the perfect gift!!

801a0435

Stay tuned for future Wallflower Workshops! It won’t only be floral related, I’m hoping to bring in some other collaborators such a personal chef to teach us nutrition and meal prepping, an artist- maybe a water color and wine night?, a candle maker-pour your own candle, a botanist- someone who can teach us the proper ways of indoor plant care (cuz all of mine keep dying!), flowers crowns (a popular request), and much much more!

 

XOXO Esther

Photography: Alyssa Sundelius (website coming soon!)

Candles: Craft and Foster 

 

Leave a Reply

