Ben’s First Birthday: A Backyard Adventure!!

DIY, events

I am so excited to share with you the first birthday party that I threw for my son! I feel like this is the party that every mom dreams of the day their firstborn enters into the world.  I’m not going to lie…I went above and beyond while trying to do a lot of DIY and trying to stay within a budget (after all, I’m throwing a party for a one year old who won’t even remember or appreciate this AND we’re not made of money). I did months of planning and crafting and figuring out how to cut costs but not sacrifice the style and look of the party. All in all, this was exhausting friends! I think for my next kid’s first birthday party, I might just get Little Caesar’s take out pizza and slap on a movie and just call it a day! But I really am so excited to share with you all the crafts that I did and if this helps you in your party planning than that makes what I did worth it even more!  Hope you have as much fun looking at these pictures as we did at the party!!

This handmade teepee was a pride and joy of a creation of me and my husband. I love that he was able to put all those tools in his garage into good use and built this magnificent 10 foot teepee.  To buy a dowel this thick at Home Depot was $10 a piece and to build this teepee would have cost us well over $80 so he thought of taking some 4 x 6s and cutting this into the width he wanted and took his round router bit to make it round all around. And of course I had to top it off with a floral garland that lasted a week!!

This handmade teepee was a pride and joy of a creation of me and my husband. I love that he was able to put all those tools in his garage into good use and built this magnificent 10 foot teepee. To buy a dowel this thick at Home Depot was $10 a piece and to build this teepee would have cost us well over $80 so he thought of taking some 4 x 6s and cutting this into the width he wanted and took his round router bit to make it round all around. And of course I had to top it off with a floral garland that lasted a week!!

BENsFIRSTbirthday38

Another fun creation that I saw on pinterest that I told my husband we needed to have. What would we do without pinterest? And being the amazing guy and wood craftsmen he is, he whipped this up within an hour! BAM! And top it with a yarn tassel and it adds a fun boho colorful touch!

Another fun creation that I saw on pinterest that I told my husband we needed to have. What would we do without pinterest? And being the amazing guy and wood craftsmen he is, he whipped this up within an hour! BAM! And top it with a yarn tassel and it adds a fun boho colorful touch!

BENsFIRSTbirthday99

i-3kfVRWs-XL

I briefly mentioned about planning and budgeting.  Throwing a party for 20+ people costs money and there’s always last minute things that you need to get that is difficult to factor in (to all my past bridal clients, you know what I mean). So I suggest writing it all down.  List things that you want to make (DIY) and what supplies you have versus what you need to buy.  If you are spending more money making it, maybe evaluate how important it is to your party.  List all the decor and foods needed for the party and make a rough calculation of the total cost + $20-50 (last minute purchases) and that should give you a good a good idea how much the party is going to cost.

The chevron bunting that you see behind the food table was made with paint chip samples that you can find at any hardware store.  I grabbed quite a bit and cut them into the chevron shape I wanted and glued two pieces together on a string (like a string sandwich). It was super easy to make and cost me absolutely NOTHING!

The chevron bunting that you see behind the food table was made with paint chip samples that you can find at any hardware store. I grabbed quite a bit and cut them into the chevron shape I wanted and glued two pieces together on a string (like a string sandwich). It was super easy to make and cost me absolutely NOTHING!

BENsFIRSTbirthday71

Boxed up S'More packages tied up with string and hand stamped cards with a little feather for charm.

Boxed up S’More packages tied up with string and hand stamped cards with a little feather for charm.

BENsFIRSTbirthday18

Japanese Ranunculus mixed with San Diego locally grown ranunculus, blue thistle, mini white carnations, and some fillers

Japanese Ranunculus mixed with San Diego locally grown ranunculus, blue thistle, mini white carnations, and some fillers

BENsFIRSTbirthday20

It's always key to remember some simple foods for the little ones when you're hosting a big party with a lot more adults than children. Organic peanut butter and honey sandwiches are easy to make and a sure thing that kids will love (unless if they have a peanut allergy).

It’s always key to remember some simple foods for the little ones when you’re hosting a big party with a lot more adults than children. Organic peanut butter and honey sandwiches are easy to make and a sure thing that kids will love (unless if they have a peanut allergy).

Match Sticks! They were delicious and a big hit! Pretzel sticks from Trader Joe's dipped in red chocolate from Michael's Craft Store in their candy aisle sprinkled with white sprinkles.  After dipping it in chocolate and sprinkles, lay them on wax paper and for quick cooling, stick them in the freezer for a couple minutes and BAM! You're done!

Match Sticks! They were delicious and a big hit! Pretzel sticks from Trader Joe’s dipped in red chocolate from Michael’s Craft Store in their candy aisle sprinkled with white sprinkles. After dipping it in chocolate and sprinkles, lay them on wax paper and for quick cooling, stick them in the freezer for a couple minutes and BAM! You’re done!

BENsFIRSTbirthday22

Place cards. An easy way to touch up any big party is to have labeled place cards. Watercolor is a fun and easy way to add an elegant and effortless touch and you don't need to know how to watercolor to do this! Also, labeling foods prevents any allergy confusion for those who may be allergic to wheat, dairy or nuts.

Place cards. An easy way to touch up any big party is to have labeled place cards. Watercolor is a fun and easy way to add an elegant and effortless touch and you don’t need to know how to watercolor to do this! Also, labeling foods prevents any allergy confusion for those who may be allergic to wheat, dairy or nuts.

ALWAYS choose hand squeezed lemonade over store bought! The taste is seriously so fresh and vibrant! The key to making lemonade is to make simple syrup instead of just throwing in sugar. I used organic granulated sugar from Trader Joe's and mixed that with 1 part water and boiled that for 3 minutes than simmered and stirred until all the sugar was dissolved.

ALWAYS choose hand squeezed lemonade over store bought! The taste is seriously so fresh and vibrant! The key to making lemonade is to make simple syrup instead of just throwing in sugar. I used organic granulated sugar from Trader Joe’s and mixed that with 1 part water and boiled that for 3 minutes than simmered and stirred until all the sugar was dissolved.

BENsFIRSTbirthday9

A fun, inexpensive way to add pizzazz to a simple cupcake is a cupcake topper.  All I did was glue triangles together on a sandwich pick and it instantly added a fun pop!

A fun, inexpensive way to add pizzazz to a simple cupcake is a cupcake topper. All I did was glue triangles together on a sandwich pick and it instantly added a fun pop!

BENsFIRSTbirthday6

ALMOND SPONGE NAKED BERRY CAKE. I have 2 people to thank for this cake. 1-my husband's company who provided all the sheet cakes pre-made and the whipped topping. 2-my best friend Melissa who I showed a picture of what I wanted and said, "no problem" and put this cake together in 30 minutes! All I had to do was pay $6 for the berries.  It's seriously better than my wedding cake! I am obsessed with this cake!!

ALMOND SPONGE NAKED BERRY CAKE. I have 2 people to thank for this cake. 1-my husband’s company who provided all the sheet cakes pre-made and the whipped topping. 2-my best friend Melissa who I showed a picture of what I wanted and said, “no problem” and put this cake together in 30 minutes! All I had to do was pay $6 for the berries. It’s seriously better than my wedding cake! I am obsessed with this cake!!

BENsFIRSTbirthday5

I had so much fun making sugar cookies! Thanks to The Alison Show and her Cookie Party E Book, this has changed my cookie making game!!

I had so much fun making sugar cookies! Thanks to The Alison Show and her Cookie Party E Book, this has changed my cookie making game!!

I had so much fun making sugar cookies! Thanks to The Alison Show and her Cookie Party E Book, this has changed my cookie making game!!

BENsFIRSTbirthday85

BENsFIRSTbirthday82

Making yarn tassels is so easy! Just wrap the yarn around the widest width of your hand and when you've wrapped around your hand about 20-25 times, snip the yarn than with a short piece of the yarn tie it around one end until it looks like a little nub and cut through the other half and trim the bottom of the tassel and you're done! Under 2 minutes!

Making yarn tassels is so easy! Just wrap the yarn around the widest width of your hand and when you’ve wrapped around your hand about 20-25 times, snip the yarn than with a short piece of the yarn tie it around one end until it looks like a little nub and cut through the other half and trim the bottom of the tassel and you’re done! Under 2 minutes!

Of course my boy had to eat his birthday cake under his teepee!!

Of course my boy had to eat his birthday cake under his teepee!!

BENsFIRSTbirthday50

BENsFIRSTbirthday95

My husband made this corn holes and there was some competitive games going on that day! I found some tribal prints that I liked online and just free hand painted the patterns.

My husband made this corn holes and there was some competitive games going on that day! I found some tribal prints that I liked online and just free hand painted the patterns.

Happy Birthday my silly boy!

Happy Birthday my silly boy!

Special thank you to my friend Heather (Seventy 7 Studios) for taking these pictures for me. It helped me to enjoy the party and mingle with my guests and I loved all the pictures! Thank you!!!

Special thank you to my friend Heather (Seventy 7 Studios) for taking these pictures for me. It helped me to enjoy the party and mingle with my guests and I loved all the pictures! Thank you!!!

Photo Credit: Seventy 7 Studios

Leave a Reply

